Save the date(s)… meet employers interested in your research experience

We know many of you are focussed on a research career.  We also know that research can take many forms and is valued by many employers.  That’s why we’ve created an incredible series of events where PhDs and research staff at King’s can come and meet employers to find out more about what research means in different contexts.

See below for our Save the Date list: the events will take place at different campuses and usually late afternoon.  We’ll update this list when rooms are booked, and will let you know the exciting range of employers as soon as we can!

Find out more about your possible future

Find out more about your possible future

Spotlight Series

This series is for you as a PhD or member of research staff if:

  • You’re eager to explore careers in different industries…
  • You’ve been thinking about pursuing a career in a field, but would like to know more about the ‘day-to-day’…
  • You’re unsure about how to break into a sector…
  • You’d like some advice on how to craft job applications for industries that interest you…

Each event in the series will put the ‘spotlight’ on a sector, and a panel of practitioners will shed light on the questions above as well as your other queries about career development. Having all spent time in academic research, panellists will be well equipped to speak about professionals experiences in and out the university setting.

Professional Futures

This series is for you as a PhD or member of research staff if you have ever asked yourself:

  • Should I remain in academia or consider a career in industry?
  • How can I market myself outside of academia?
  • Which organisations appreciate the skillset of academic researchers like me?
  • What’s the best way to communicate my skills and experience with non-academic employers?

Come along to the sessions that speak most to your career needs, where you can engage with professionals who have already spent a lot of time figuring out answers to these kind of questions! Our guest speakers will chat briefly about their own experiences and then be on hand to address any questions you have about your own professional development and future.

Event Date
SS: Patent Law Wed 12th Oct
SS: Management Consultancy Wed 19th Oct
SS: Policy Wed 26th Oct
SS: Research outside of Academia Wed 2nd Nov
PF: Industry vs. Academia: Comparing research opportunities in both sectors (Sciences) Wed 9th Nov
PF: Don’t think you need to network? Megan Rossi explains why you do Wed 16th Nov
SS: Finance Wed 23rd Nov
PF: Thinking beyond your discipline Wed 30th Nov
PF: Internationalising your PhD Wed 18th Jan
PF: Finding your fit: PhD-friendly organisations Wed 1st Feb
SS: Entrepreneurship Wed 8th Feb
PF: Industry vs. Academia: Comparing research opportunities in both sectors (Social studies) Wed 15th Feb
PF: Informational Interview (link in with promotion of work shadowing opportunities) Wed 1st Mar
PF: Beyond the Bench: Nail the PhD Elevator Pitch Wed 8th Mar
SS: Behavioural Consultancy (IoPPN) Wed 15th Mar
SS: Education Wed 22nd Mar
SS: Arts Administration Wed 19th Apr
SS: Security & Intelligence Wed 26th Apr
SS: Science Beyond Academia (to include Science Comms, Tech Transfer, & Pharmaceuticals) Wed May 3rd